''In the business of delivering results...''

Ballas, Pelecanos & Associates LPC, congratulates the Athens Law School Team in the “FOREIGN DIRECT INVESTMENT INTERNATIONAL ARBITRATION MOOT 2020”

Thursday, December 3, 2020

Ballas, Pelecanos & Associates is a proud supporter of the team representing the Athens Law School at the international competition Foreign Direct Investment International Arbitration Moot 2020 (2020FDI Moot).

Athens Law School was ranked 1st in the written submissions’ ranking (Best Claimant Memorial) and 6th in the overall ranking (Combined Written and Oral Scores) of the international competition, Foreign Direct Investment International Arbitration Moot 2020.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Global Rounds of 2020FDI Moot were held as Virtual Rounds (via Zoom) between 4-9 November 2020 with the participation of 77 teams from universities worldwide, including University College London, King’s College London, Saarland University, Paris Bar School, National Law School of India University etc.

The competition is organized annually by the Center for International Legal Studies (Salzburg, Austria), in cooperation with Suffolk University Law School (Boston, Massachusetts), Pepperdine University Law School (Malibu, California), Centre of European Law, King's College London and German Institution of Arbitration (DIS, Frankfurt/Cologne, Germany) The FDI Moot.

This year’s Athens Law School team, consisting of undergraduate students Lydia Koraki, Anastasios Lafaras, Grigorios Pappas and Dionysios Fotopoulos, were coached by Eleni- Amalia Giannakopoulou and Alexandros Peppas (also undergraduate students), under the academic supervision of Dr Anastasios Gourgourinis, Lecturer at Athens Law School.

The team’s excellent performance maintained the excellent tradition of Athens Law School in the competition. The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens is ranked 3rd in the overall ranking (Combined Written and Oral Scores) in the history of the competition so far (2008- 2019), only behind Harvard University and the University of Ottawa.

Source: Athens Law School